Scroll to Top


By Mugove Chigada / Published on Friday, 06 Jan 2017 15:08 PM / No Comments / 1270 views

6 January 2017

Pasuwa and Mussa
Pasuwa and Mussa

WARRIORS manager Shariff Mussa said there was no special reason why Marshal Mudewe, Farai Madhanhanga and Nelson Chadya were dropped.

The 23-man squad released by coach Kalisto Pasuwa is set to leave tomorrow for Cameroon where they will play a last friendly match on January 10 before the 2017 AFCON finals start on January 14 in Gabon.


The Warriors start their group B matches against the Desert Foxes of Algeria on January 15. Senegal and Tunisia are also in the same group and come next in that order.


“The 23 is the squad and so the coaching staff had to decide on the 23 while the others were dropped,” Mussa told H-Metro.

The rest of the squad was predictable and the luckiest among those in the final squad were Oscar Machapa and Tino Kaderwe.


They were the biggest beneficiaries as they did not play a role in the qualifiers.

Goalkeeper Takabva Mawaya was however the biggest surprise inclusion in the final squad.


Nelson Chadya, who was usually the third choice throughout the campaign, was dropped.

Kalisto Pasuwa’s charges face Algeria on January 15 at Stade de Franceville, Senegal at the same venue on January 19 and Tunisia on January 23 at Stade de l’Amitié.

One player who had been part of the Pasuwa’s national teams in the past Milton “Milito” Ncube said he wished the Warriors well.

“I just want to wish the boys all the best in Gabon. I believe this is one of the best squads if not the best we have had in a long time. We just have to believe in our abilities and work hard collectively,” said Milito.



Bernard Donovan Fungai (How Mine)
Mkuruva Tendai (Dynamos)
Mawaya Takabva (ZPC Kariba)


Nhamoinesu Costa (AC Sparta Praha)
Mhlanga Lawrence (Chicken Inn)
Muroiwa Elisha (Dynamos)
Hadebe Teenage Lingani (Chicken Inn)
Bhasera Onismor (Supersport United)
Kangwa Bruce (Azam FC)
Machapa Oscar (AS Vita Club)
Zvirekwi Hardlife (Caps United)


Phiri Danny (Golden Arrows)
Katsande Willard (Kaizer Chiefs)
Nakamba Marvelous (Vitesse Arnhem)
Mahachi Kudakwashe (Golden Arrows)
Billiat Khama (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Musona Knowledge (KV Oostende)
Ndoro Tendai (Orlando Pirates)
Kadewere Philana Tinotenda (Djurgardens IF)
Mushekwi Nyasha (Dalian Yifang)
Rusike Evans (Maritzburg United)
Rusike Tyrell Matthew Benjamin (Club Sportif Sfaxien)
Malajila Cuthbert Lifasi (Bidvest Wits)

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.