Scroll to Top

Massive water disconnections start Monday

By Munyaradzi Doma / Published on Monday, 07 Nov 2016 14:13 PM / No Comments / 2141 views

7 November 2016

COUNCIL-Harare on illegal water -City spokesperson Michael ChidemeThe City of Harare will on Monday start massive water disconnections for residents in certain suburbs who now owe over a staggering US$331.

In a statement released by the City’s acting Corporate Communications Manager Michael Chideme, it was said “the City of Harare hereby informs residents of the below listed suburbs of pending water disconnections beginning Monday, 7 November 2016.

“Residents of these suburbs owe the city over US$331 million in unpaid bills.

“If for any reason homeowners fail to give access to our officers – the water will be disconnected from outside with the attendant costs being met by the property owner.

“The City is urging all debtors to at least pay their current bill in full and make payment arrangements for the debt owing,” read the statement.

Residents’ organisations have for long criticised the Harare City Council for disconnecting residents’ water, calling it unlawful.

In one of its arguments, the Harare Residents Trust said “Disconnecting residents’ water without a court order is unlawful, according to the High Court of Zimbabwe ruling by Justice Bhunu of 02 August 2013 between Farai Mushoriwa (Applicant) and City of Harare (Responded).

“The continuation of water disconnections is a testimony that the City of Harare is regarding itself as above the courts of Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwean Constitution,” said the HRT.

But the Harare City Council says though water is a right, the service can be given for free.
And they also argue that in order to provide the service which is currently a challenge, residents should pay up.

Suburbs where water will be disconnected
1. Mt Pleasant
2. Strathaven
3. Avondale West
4. Avondale East
5. Avonlea
6. Mabelreign
7. Borrowdale West
8. CBD industrial
9. Arcadia
10. Amby Msasa
11. Alexandra Park
12. Beverly Msasa
13. Bluffhill
14. Budiriro
15. Crowborough
16. Dzivarasekwa
17. Mufakose
18. Kuwadzana
19. Kambuzuma
20. Warren Park

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.