Scroll to Top

New SRC board named

By Mehluli Sibanda / Published on Thursday, 29 Dec 2016 20:19 PM / No Comments / 1314 views

29 December 2016


AFTER months of consultations, the Minister of Sport and Recreation Makhosini Hlongwane Thursday unveiled a fresh Sports and Recreation Commission with Edward Siwela who was interim SRC chairman now the permanent chairperson of the board.

Hlongwane said the new commissioners assume their positions on 1 January.

In terms of the SRC Act, they will be in office for three years.

Seven commissioners were announced with Hlongwane pointing out that the other three to complete the full complement of 10 will be announced once consultations have come to an end.

The commissioners are Clement Mukwasi, Titus Zvomuya, Joseph Mungwari, John Falkenberg, Lillian Mbayiwa, James Goddard and Siwela.

Victoria Falls based Mukwasi works in the tourism sector, Zvomuya, a former Zimbabwe Rugby Union and Zimbabwe Cricket employee runs the Bindura University sports academy.

Zvomuya was also the chef de mission for Zimbabwe at the 2016 Rio Olympics in Brazil. Former National Athletics Association of Zimbabwe president Joseph Mungwari, ex Zimbabwe Rugby Union leader John Falkenberg, Old Mutual marketing executive Lillian Mbayiwa, businessman Goddard and executive director at Institute of Directors Zimbabwe Siwela complete the SRC hierarchy.

“The Ministry of Sport and Recreation advises of the new Commissioners for the Sports and Recreation Commission with effect from 1 January 2017.

The other three names to make the full complement of 10 Commissioners will be advised in due course once consultations have been completed.

Accordingly, Commissioner Edward Siwela has been appointed the chairman of the new SRC Commission with effect from 1 January 2017,’’ said Hlongwane.

A mandate has been handed to the new board with an emphasis on governance of sport and recreation, resource mobilisation for the commission in particular and sport in general, re-organisation and re-orientation of the sport and recreation structure with special emphasis on democratisation to the sector by all Zimbabweans.

“The Minister of Sport and Recreation would like to wish the new Commission well in their endeavours.

The Minister of Sport and Recreation would like to thank the outgoing Commission for the sterling effort and a commitment to duty during their tenure,’’ concluded Hlongwane’s statement.

In February this year, Hlongwane gave the SRC board a further three months after the term of office of the eight-member board came to an end at the beginning of that month.

The board, however, continued beyond that time frame as Hlongwane carried on with his consultations on putting in place a new structure.

The former board consisted of acting chairman Siwela, David Ellman-Brown, Jessie Nyakatawa, Ethan Dube, Miriam Mushayi, Obadiah Moyo, Aisha Tsimba and Farai Kanyangarara.

The board had been appointed by then Minister of Education, Sport, Arts and Culture David Coltart in February 2013. Andrew Langa who came in as Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture in September 2013 did not tamper with the board. The only thing Langa did was to replace the late Joseph James with Siwela when the former stepped down as chairman in 2014. Hlongwane inherited the board when he came into office in September 2015.

The Sport and Recreation Minister in consultation with President Robert Mugabe appoints the board of commissioners

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.